Is it always just under/over activated?

BoondocksBoondocks Member Posts: 11
My background is composites (boat building, ballistic plate) and firearms manufacturing. Over the last year we have experienced chem shortages that have required substitutions.

Part prep is sandblasting 7075 T6 Aluminum w/120mesh garnit, complex shapes and various complex polymer parts (flame treat yes). Blow off in clean dry air 100psi.

History: New to the various processes of 'dipping'. Tank size for this R&d experiment is 3'depth by 4' width with ability to step up and step down water temp in +/- 0.5deg F, varied temps as high as 92F down to 80F. Base coats are a very well known brand/advertised as hydro-dipping paint requiring no primer. Films by TWN, activator by TWN and OHW. Iterations or attempts performed 60+ on eight different shapes with little care for stretch etc, just looking for no bubbles, pin holes, sticky, pot lids, slide offs etc to start.

Results: 60 plus failures, majority of attempts showed what is typically classified/described as under activation (various nozzles and adjustments made). Attempts to switch activator and or add activator volume applied resulted in sticky surfaces etc.

Further Action: Out of frustration I grabbed a part painted with Rustoleum (7 day old set at approx 80F), I did not bring water to temp (left it at 73F room temp, NO the paint booth is not 73F). Put the TNW films aside and pulled out some donated carbon pattern that was laying around unprotected for 30+ days. Film laid on 73F water, for 2 mins, over sprayed it with OHW aerosol activator, it glassed out, hand rolled the part.....it came out perfect. Not one pin hole, no stickiness, no blotches, would not rub off or rinse off, no seam (monolithic dip using no tape).