Ammo cans

Hey guys!

My name is Austin Wright and i’m pretty new to dipping. I’ve been dipping for about a year and some change. I was reading the forums and realized most post about ammo cans are from 2016 back.

I just wanted to know if anyone has any tips and tricks to dip these. What techniques are working the best for everyone. The do’s and don’t when messing with these items. 

I really appreciate any and all input. Thank you! 

Comments

• preedpreed Member Posts: 407 ✭✭✭✭
    I messed around with them once. I remember I didnt like it... lol... i bought 12 did one and gave the rest away
  • WileECoyoteWileECoyote Member, Moderator, Business Ninja Posts: 7,714 El Moderator
    Those would be a HUGE pain to dip. 
  • ForsiForsi Member Posts: 396 ✭✭✭
    We did some ammo cans back in the day and they are a pain. We made sure to use a 'busy' pattern with no tight registration and did the lid as a dip and then did the can itself as two dips. We tried rolling the can itself and doing the lid separate, but I was never happy with the results around the edges so we resorted to doing a double-dip to cover the can area. They are a lot of work and it is hard to find customers willing to pay for all the labor involved to do them cleanly so we got out of that niche unless we did them for our own personal use.
  • PristineKreationsPristineKreations Member Posts: 23
    Forsi said:

We did some ammo cans back in the day and they are a pain. We made sure to use a 'busy' pattern with no tight registration and did the lid as a dip and then did the can itself as two dips. We tried rolling the can itself and doing the lid separately, but I was never happy with the results around the edges so we resorted to doing a double-dip to cover the can area. They are a lot of work and it is hard to find customers willing to pay for all the labor involved to do them cleanly so we got out of that niche unless we did them for our own personal use.