Environmental factors

SpinnerSpinner Member Posts: 380 ✭✭✭
I thought this would be a good discussion topic. We talk a lot about materials and technique, but I believe the environment we use these in is as much a part of our success as the other stuff. I am by no means an expert on the subject, but I have observed a big difference in the performance of me and the materials in differing ambient environments.

For instance...Air compressor air temperature and moisture would be a good analogy on a micro climate level... filters and dryers are standard tools to help solve those problems.

But what about the larger work space?

Here are a couple of topics on my mind...

Room temperature and how it effects parts, painting, film, and activation

Room humidity and how it effects parts, painting, film and activation

Air contaminates - dust is obvious. However, with so many of us dipping "in our garages" do other air contaminates effect our results? Fuel vapors from gas cans or vehicles for instance. What about odors from household chemicals and products?

For those of you in the business, I am sure environment control is critical to your success. What steps can be taken on the home front to help us part timers see more consistent results?
Post edited by Spinner on

Comments

• SpinnerSpinner Member Posts: 380 ✭✭✭
    edited July 10

I will start with one example...
    I wanted to use an intercoat clear with a candy color (transparent) for a base coat... Candy apple red. But the candy color had a terrible blush. It wasn't red, nor was it clear. After lots of attempts and several calls into JJ at OHW, it turns out the summertime ambient humidity in my unheated workshop left a surface moisture on the aluminum part that got trapped under the intercoat (paint). This moisture presented itself as "cool to the touch" on the aluminum... not visual moisture droplets.