Bench Paint Booth Build

kruppykruppy Posts: 15Member
If you've followed my new members intro/post then you have a good idea of where i'm starting and what i'm trying to achieve at this point. While I am waiting for parts to rebuild my compressors, I've been figuring out what to do for a paint booth. Then i came across @Spinner Video in the member video section and was impressed with the layout and in particular his JC Metal bench paint booth was perfect!

My plan was to take this design (JC-B-4) and use the dimensions to build it out of 2x4's and 1/2 plywood and leave a couple strips of plexi-glass for lighting on the top and sides. Instead of the tube axial fan, I plan on purchasing a squirrel cage blower to save some additional costs. There are a couple of reasons for this, 1) I'm just starting out and have a large learning curve in painting and figuring out HVLP guns, 2) I will be painting small(er) parts, 3) At this time it's only a hobby, i have limited space and money. With that said, i know these are NOT explosion proof but with the small amount of painting, the planned filtering, and the fact i'll likely be starting out with water based paints I should stay well below the LEL.