Working on Firearms? Be aware of ITAR registration... it may apply to you!

MidOhioHydrographicsMidOhioHydrographics Posts: 10,219Member, Moderator, Business Ninja El Moderator
First, I'm not a lawyer or federal agent of any kind, so don't take any advice directly from me. This is just a heads up as we noticed some things on the firearms side that you may want to look into if you're doing firearm related activities. Also, this isn't necessarily geared toward hydrographics, but Firearms are a large part of the industry.

Here's a list of things that would require registration with ITAR (which is $2250 per year).

State has defined the following activities as manufacturing which require ITAR registration:
  1. Use of any special tooling or equipment upgrading in order to improve the capability of assembled or repaired firearms;
  2. Modifications to a firearm that change round capacity;
  3. The production of firearm parts (including, but not limited to, barrels, stocks, cylinders, breech mechanisms, triggers, silencers, or suppressors);
  4. The systemized production of ammunition, including the automated loading or reloading of ammunition;
  5. The machining or cutting of firearms, e.g., threading of muzzles or muzzle brake installation requiring machining, that results in an enhanced capability;
  6. Rechambering firearms through machining, cutting, or drilling;
  7. Chambering, cutting, or threading barrel blanks; and
  8. Blueprinting firearms by machining the barrel.
So basically many "gunsmithing" activities would require ITAR registration, such as threading barrels. You do not have to be a Federal 07-FFL (manufacturing) to need to register for ITAR, and also the reverse. I have my 07-FFL, but do not do any of the above mentioned items, so no ITAR for me. Again, look into it if you are indeed performing any of these activities.

Just some friendly advice. Have a great day!

Comments