Activation issues..I think.

I’ve read discussions on here until my eyes have bled and I’m certain that I already know the answer to my questions. However, with that said I’d like some advice. 

I started with a my dip kit purchase and the item turned out..ok. So I did some research and let me add that I am on a very tight budget. I’ve constructed my own tank out of and old deep freezer. Works..ok. I’m using OHW paint and activator now (aerosol). Until I can afford and air gun. And I have purchased some camo film from Kansas hydrographics. Also my tank was at 76 degrees when I dipped the switch cover. 

Thanks to anyone who has advice. I am a Law Enforcement Officer and I’m looking to not only start an expensive hobby but make some $$ here and there on some local gun stocks, tumblers etc. 

Comments

• loochlooch Posts: 1,866Member ✭✭✭✭✭
    Welcome to the forum from nj and 90 degrees is the normal temp and camo usually takes alot of activator 
  • PagesHydroDippingPagesHydroDipping Posts: 654Member ✭✭✭
    Under activated
  • mrkasparksmrkasparks Posts: 12Member
    looch said:
    Welcome to the forum from nj and 90 degrees is the normal temp and camo usually takes alot of activator 
    Tomorrow I will try again. I knew the water was cold but also thought a longer soak time would have helped. I soaked for 90 seconds and made 3 attempts. Each time applying more activator but each dip yielded the same results. 
  • MidOhioHydrographicsMidOhioHydrographics Posts: 9,952Member, Moderator, Business Ninja El Moderator
    Welcome!

Did you dip it into the film at a steep angle? Almost looks like it trapped some air as well.
    Welcome! Did you dip it into the film at a steep angle? Almost looks like it trapped some air as well.
    I did 3 plates and all at about a 45
    Welcome! Did you dip it into the film at a steep angle? Almost looks like it trapped some air as well.