Minimal wasted materials — K2Forums.com

Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Minimal wasted materials

MaxPMaxP Posts: 1Member
Hey guys, I'm new to the dipping, and it's mainly just for hobby or personal gear, I'm not looking to spend tons on paints, activator, air guns, etc, and yes I realize it's an expensive hobby.
Few Qs, if I was to use spray cans, which cans or kinds of paint do I stay away from? Oil base or what types of paint? Or name brands to stay away from would help too.

2, Also if all my projects are fairly small like a foot long or smaller, I was thinking of saving materials,activator by using one of the smaller airbrush guns with compressor on eBay to paint and activate. do they put out enough spray when fully flowing?, or atomize activator well?
(More worried about activator).
Or is there any flaws or issues I should know about them? Ones or brands to stay away from etc?
Seems like they would do the job for my smaller projects.
Thanks in advance, great forum!

Comments

• NotSoFastNotSoFast Posts: 3,139Member, Moderator El Moderator
    1. Any of the paints offered by the forum sponsors. A few offer aerosols. Store-bought aerosols don't play well with the activator in most cases.
    2. An airbrush will not put out enough product quickly enough. It will be evaporated before you finish spraying. Plus it would only cover maybe an inch wide at a time per pass. Unless you are dipping postage stamps, you'd have so many passes of activator that you'd never get consistent results from the overlapping.

Unfortunately, there is a minimum level of equipment necessary to get consistently good results. Even with the very best stuff, it takes hundreds of hours of practice to get "good".
  • K2ConceptsK2Concepts Posts: 12,466Administrator El Jefe
    What is it with the airbrush for activator questions lately?...