Clear coat for Yeti's — K2Forums.com

Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Clear coat for Yeti's

I am new to all of this and learning. I am starting out with small items like Yeti's and such and then moving up from there.

I've looked thru this entire forum "Clear Coat Information" and unless it 's somewhere else I do not see what clear coat folks are using on the Yeti cups. The coating has to be food grade safe and I did find one thread here that asked about food grade safe clear coats and it mentioned some salad bowl coating. However, after looking at it, it is used on wooden salad bowls and is not intended to be used on anything other than wood as it soaks into the wood.

So which food grade safe clear coat is being used on tumblers like the Yeti"s?

TIA,
Paul

Comments

• K2ConceptsK2Concepts Posts: 13,064Administrator El Jefe
    As far as I know? There is no "food safe" rating on any clear coats...so guys are just using regular 2K clear like on any other project. Once the clear kicks off? There is nothing left to do...it does not hold solvents or anything else in suspended animation...
  • MidOhioHydrographicsMidOhioHydrographics Posts: 9,199Member, Moderator, Business Ninja El Moderator
    ^^^ What he said. Also, if you're worried? You can Leave a 1/2" bare stainless rim around the top so lips don't come in contact with the coating.
  • ShowtimeGraphixShowtimeGraphix Posts: 24Member
    Whats the method y'all are using for spraying Yeti's?

I am having hit or miss sessions clearing these. I get runs at the bottom and dry spots at the top.