Rinse immediately or wait a couple minutes

I am new to this but I have been in the printing business for years. I'm trying to branch out. I keep having the same problem of fisheyes or film not sticking in the grooves of part. I get the paint showing through. I'm getting tired of touching up. I have been using a vinyl based paint and hydrovator. Some hits on metal are great but plastics are not. I do use an adhesion promoter on plastics.

Comments

• PTC_HydroGraphXPTC_HydroGraphX Posts: 1,107Member ✭✭✭✭
    edited April 2016
    If done properly you should be able to rinse immediately.

Use the search bar you'll find everything you need to know there but the basics are scuff, basecoat with a hydrographic friendly paint, activate K2superbrew, K2brew or Hydrovator, dip, rinse, dry, clear (again best results are with hydrofriendly products.

On the left side of the page are a ton of videos. Watch them all, twice. Further down on the left side are the sponsor pages. Check them out. All good people with great reputations.

Also film not sticking in the grooves is most likely your technique and you are trapping air on your piece.

Last but not least WELCOME!
  • CamogunworksCamogunworks Posts: 45Member
    Thanks most of the grooves are in the checkering on gunstocks. I have been painting for some time so it must be my dip technique
  • PTC_HydroGraphXPTC_HydroGraphX Posts: 1,107Member ✭✭✭✭
    @Camogunworks Post some close ups of your issues and you'll get lots of advice. It's easier to diagnose when we can see it.
  • MidOhioHydrographicsMidOhioHydrographics Posts: 9,404Member, Moderator, Business Ninja El Moderator
    You're just trapping air, if I had to guess. Get an airbrush and get used to touch up. We RARELY have a dip that doesn't require some touch up on rifle stocks. We dip 200-300 carbines per week, with automated activation, a dip arm, angles set w/ an angle gauge on consistent fixtures, and STILL have to touch up every stock with an air brush.