Deer skull help

I'm fairly new to hydro dipping. I'm still working on some things to become better.  I dipped my first deer skull and need to know the best way to dip do that the inside of the eye sockets can be printed as well 

Comments

• MidOhioHydrographicsMidOhioHydrographics Posts: 9,258Member, Moderator, Business Ninja El Moderator
    Not gonna happen. The best result I can get is to dip the front, and then dip the bottom, starting w the back bottom corner (best way I know to describe it). I double dip all my skulls because I (and the taxidermist I have a contract with) prefer the bottom and back to be printed well also.

Even doing like that? The eye sockets don't fill. Get an airbrush and paint them in. Use a color that corresponds with the film. Black or a dark gray usually work well.
  • sas874runnersas874runner Posts: 40Member
    Ok. That is my thought as well. But you guys are the masters so I figured I would ask
  • OverCoatsOverCoats Posts: 350Member ✭✭✭
    if you have an airbrush, fill in the color at the base of the horns and let it fly. I tape off the teeth to give it contrast but some like it that way also. looks good!
  • ImmortalImmortal Posts: 261Member ✭✭✭
    I dip several skulls, what I have luck with is using electrical tape wrap it very tight around the base of the antler burr. I will then cover the antlers with plastic bags or plastic wrap and tape it tight. I usually dip the bottom first and then dip the top and airbrush the eye sockets unless the pattern looks better just leaving it with the solid base coat color.
  • ImmortalImmortal Posts: 261Member ✭✭✭
    Its not terribly tough to clean it off the antlers if you get a little paint or material on it.
  • MidOhioHydrographicsMidOhioHydrographics Posts: 9,258Member, Moderator, Business Ninja El Moderator
    Glad Press N Seal around the antlers. Works like a dream.