Water base paint ?'s

FullImmersionHGFullImmersionHG Posts: 106Member ✭✭
edited July 2015 in Water Based Paints
I have never used a water based paint before but with So many of you here that speak So highly of them I thought I'd give it a try. So i have search and still not real clear on a few things so.
Do I need a primer or just an adhesion promoter when using water base on most substrates?
Does any one know of  a mix chart for water base, to make up other colors? Was just thinking it would be nice to find somthing like OHW has so you only need a few base colors.
I know I will have other questions but for now I'm just trying to fill in a few gaps in what I've already figured out. Thank guys. 

Comments

• K2ConceptsK2Concepts Posts: 13,146Administrator El Jefe
    Yes, you still need a primer or adhesion promoter. No there is no mix chart as yet...I know they have one but I do not know if the mother company wants it published...but not sure...
  • FullImmersionHGFullImmersionHG Posts: 106Member ✭✭
    Sorry may not have been clear, but my question was more, if I use an AP do I still need to prime the parts, especially if there will not be a drastic color change.
  • FWHydroFWHydro Posts: 445Member ✭✭✭
    No you do not have to use a primer
  • WileECoyoteWileECoyote Posts: 6,230Member, Moderator, Business Ninja El Moderator
    @FullImmersionHG The answer depends on the substrate. If it is metal, currently you have to prime (to prevent flash rusting from the water) if it is plastic, you have to use an adhesion promoter. Not ALL plastics require an adhesion promoter, but it is best to assume you do. A mechanical bond (scuffing well) will eliminate the need for adhesion promoter on some plastics, but you will have to do your testing.