Hydro Dipping Over Powdercoat — K2Forums.com

Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Hydro Dipping Over Powdercoat

tonycovtonycov Posts: 7Member
Can someone help? I am new to Hydro dipping, I powder coated my motorcycle fender a flat black, waited a few days then dipped it, I believe I may have waited to long before dipping it "40" seconds. Sections of the fender came out nice but other sections came out blurry looks wrinkly. I rinsed with cold water then let it dry then I clear coated with a matte clear then baked in the oven at 380 deg. when it came out it seemed as if there was film still on the fender with pin holes? I don't know what that is. I dipped at 91 degrees then rinsed for about 2-3 minutes in cold water. Should I have scuffed the base Powdercoat before dipping? The film I don't know what happened...... Any help would be appreciated .

https://flickr.com/photos/134427284@N08/sets/72157652821568943/with/19184301416/

Comments

• MidOhioHydrographicsMidOhioHydrographics Posts: 9,204Member, Moderator, Business Ninja El Moderator
    I'm actually surprised it came out that good! I've never dipped to powder coat, except by painting over it first. If the paint isn't still "open" to the dip, the activator can't make the chemical Bond between the paint and film ink. I have heard it can be done, but dipping to powder coat is tricky. Is this something you've done before? And I can't really see the pinholes in the pictures.
  • tonycovtonycov Posts: 7Member