parts prep + primers

Hi Guys I am new to this whole industry I have ordered a bunch of film going head first in to this
I just want to say that I have tried to get as much info of the net .
But......... a few things on my mind
1-what primers on what products
2-what is better solvent based paints or water based paints
3-do you use different types of clear for different applications such as guns and engine covers

thank you and if there is any posts just point me in the right direction

Comments

• CoastalHydrographicsCoastalHydrographics Posts: 3,047Member ✭✭✭✭✭
    OHW is a paint,primer in one with a huge dip window,will stick to most anything and while your ordering it you can get their clear which is great as well.As far as different applications use the search in the members project section you should be able to find some helpful info there.Good luck!!
  • projectsignsprojectsigns Posts: 23Member
    Thanks I will
  • GCIGCI Posts: 1,320Member, Business Ninja ✭✭✭✭
    like blaster said OHW has got some awesome paint colors I would try them out first.
  • TsunamiTsunami Posts: 4,952Member, Business Ninja ✭✭✭✭✭
    If it's other than abs, and I am using a water base say from Prime coatings I like a product called Pla- Stick by Dupont. It's an adhesion promoter that really sticks to plastic. Your gun guys I believe are using Cerakoat and Duracoat for there metal applications. Blaster got it right when he said OHW for everything else. You can't beat it. Good Luck
  • onehitwonderonehitwonder Posts: 2,730Member, Business Ninja ✭✭✭✭✭
    many thanks guys - and remember besides HDPE (which needs to be flame treated), out paint goes EVERY other substrate, including metals, fiberglass, bone, wood, glass, and of course, plastic. We designed it to take all the guesswork out of painting.
  • JeremyJeremy Posts: 1,106Member ✭✭✭
    Send some down under JJ OHW would be great
    find me a distributor!
  • CoastalHydrographicsCoastalHydrographics Posts: 3,047Member ✭✭✭✭✭