WHAT'S THIS PAINT DOING? — K2Forums.com

Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

WHAT'S THIS PAINT DOING?

CoastalHydrographicsCoastalHydrographics Posts: 3,047Member ✭✭✭✭✭
This is my first time using this paint.Its d.t.p u.s paint & reducer with a 2.1 mix.Well thats how i mixed it but when i went to spray it little tiny nibs of paint started floating/falling all inside the paint booth.It was coming out the gun like that. like tiny thin short hair strips landing all over the place.I've never seen this before in the past so i have no clue whats going on here.I mixed it 2.1,23psi I know i did something wrong..just don't know what?? I purchased this paint in dec/2013 when i took training and really don't like it.lol

Comments

• GCIGCI Posts: 1,317Member, Business Ninja ✭✭✭✭
    I have had that happen with me as well with some etching primer. I just remixed a batch and started working again. So I'm not sure if it was not mixed well enough with the hardener, not enough or what but when I redid all the steps it worked the second time.
  • K2ConceptsK2Concepts Posts: 12,466Administrator El Jefe
    Throw it out and try it again...double check your process...hopefully you can just write it off to the bear getting YOU today...
  • onehitwonderonehitwonder Posts: 2,615Member, Business Ninja ✭✭✭✭✭
    how long before you sprayed it did you mix it?
  • CoastalHydrographicsCoastalHydrographics Posts: 3,047Member ✭✭✭✭✭

how long before you sprayed it did you mix it?

no more than 3min.
  • DallenDallen Posts: 1,657Member, Business Ninja ✭✭✭✭
    kinda sounds like it started to jell on you was the paint real cold when you mixed it
    Dallen said:

kinda sounds like it started to jell on you was the paint real cold when you mixed it

around 68/70
    did it say mix 2 to 1 a lot of base coats use a 1 to 1 you might try that
    Dallen said:

did it say mix 2 to 1 a lot of base coats use a 1 to 1 you might try that