Jus quick question

hi jus got a quick question I’m gonna be doing some interior trim pieces for a customer but he wants to keep the colour of trim so was wondering if I can clear coat everything and dip it n then clear coat after wondering if the film will still take hold to the clear same as any colour? 
Using OHW clear thanks in advance. 

Comments

• smedlinsmedlin Posts: 1,880Member, Business Ninja ✭✭✭✭✭
    use inter-coat
  • LinnyLinny Posts: 5Member
    Thanks very much almost made big mistake lol
  • WileECoyoteWileECoyote Posts: 6,400Member, Moderator, Business Ninja El Moderator
    If you can dip it within 8-12 hours, you can use regular clear coat. If you need to stretch that out, then you default to innercoat. 
  • pitopito Posts: 19Member
    So to dip a piece and keep the original color of the peice, you would 
    1. Intercoat the piece
    2. Dip
    3. Clear coat.
    Is that right? 
    Probably completely wrong but as a newbie i'm just asking for future refrence.
    Thanks
  • DeviousDipsDeviousDips Posts: 1,648Member ✭✭✭✭
    Scuff then intercoat
  • WileECoyoteWileECoyote Posts: 6,400Member, Moderator, Business Ninja El Moderator
    @pito You have to abrade the original surface... Hopefully that is clear.
    1. Scuff
    2. clear or innercoat (based on the window requirements)
    3. dip
    4. clear
  • smedlinsmedlin Posts: 1,880Member, Business Ninja ✭✭✭✭✭
    (don't forget to wash it really really really good first)
  • pitopito Posts: 19Member
    @DeviousDips @WileECoyote @smedlin ;
    Washing and scuffing i got, it was just the whole dipping to the original color of the peice i wanted to make sure i understood. Thanks for the explanation fellas.
  • NotSoFastNotSoFast Posts: 3,254Member, Moderator El Moderator
    pito said:

@DeviousDips @WileECoyote @smedlin ;
    Washing and scuffing i got, it was just the whole dipping to the original color of the peice i wanted to make sure i understood. Thanks for the explanation fellas.