Profitability

saucemansauceman Posts: 1Member
edited July 7 in K2 Business Forums
So..... I'm just getting into hydro (have a shop that does removable coatings and regular paint) and I'm wondering how profitable hydro is as an add on service.  I feel like I hear of so many people trying it and it not really working out as far as putting enough dollars in wallets for the high level of difficulty.  Inquiring minds want to know.....

TIA

Comments

• loochlooch Posts: 1,742Member ✭✭✭✭✭
    It all depends on the area your in and if there is a market for it. Some make a living doing hydrographics but alot also have it as a add on service from other business 
  • jtagliajtaglia Posts: 2,295Member ✭✭✭✭✭
    You get out what you put in. You have to be a good salesperson, get your product known to others. Beat the street & do trade shows. Make a business plan & stick to it. If you treat it like a hobby, it'll be a hobby
  • TroubleTrouble Posts: 346Member ✭✭✭
    Its not something you will learn right away even with training there is a steep learning curb you will not profit for a while. Be prepared to sink in a lot of money without any returns for a while I have seen a lot of people come and go since I started in 2013. Many guys I know are struggling now.
  • WileECoyoteWileECoyote Posts: 6,472Member, Moderator, Business Ninja El Moderator
    For a professional set up (able to consistently turn out quality parts) figure $30,000. If you assume you are going to make it on 1 off custom work, you will not generate enough interest in your area no matter your size. You need production work to pay the bills.
  • smedlinsmedlin Posts: 1,899Member, Business Ninja ✭✭✭✭✭

For a professional set up (able to consistently turn out quality parts) figure $30,000. If you assume you are going to make it on 1 off custom work, you will not generate enough interest in your area no matter your size. You need production work to pay the bills.