My first dip kit gets deliverd today!

pitopito Posts: 19Member
I'm not sure my wife realizes everything is getting dipped this weekend, forks, spoons my kids picture frames, everything. (Just kidding). I came across a couple youtube vids and was blown away by the transfer process. I have NO experience in dipping and honestly have only painted with aerisol cans. Im excited to try it out and learn all i can. With all that being said, thanks in advance for the advice and answers to my future questions.

Comments

• smedlinsmedlin Posts: 1,835Member, Business Ninja ✭✭✭✭✭
    howdy and welcome to the forums!

And...

• MidOhioHydrographicsMidOhioHydrographics Posts: 9,344Member, Moderator, Business Ninja El Moderator
    Glad to have you! Best advice would be to be prepared for failure. This process takes a lot of practice and the kits don't make it any easier. Even activator application is difficult with an aerosol. But have fun! It is an amazing process!
  • pitopito Posts: 19Member
    Thanks I appreciate it. Im expecting failure from the get go. But i'll never learn if i dont try. Hopefully i'll get decent enough after awhile to justify getting a spray gun.
  • MidOhioHydrographicsMidOhioHydrographics Posts: 9,344Member, Moderator, Business Ninja El Moderator
    Just have fun with it. Prep and paint a few parts, and practice dipping. You'll most likely get some decent results, but don't expect it to be 100%. Common problem is under activation with aerosols, so be aware of that.
  • SreynoldsSreynolds Posts: 1,369Member ✭✭✭✭
    Where are you from ??
    @MidOhioHydrographics thanks for the heads up.
    @Sreynolds I'm from South Florida. How about yourself?
  • SreynoldsSreynolds Posts: 1,369Member ✭✭✭✭
    Im in AL . If u really feel strongly about this, go ahead and have fun with the kit but look into training. You will get a good understanding about the process and actually save money.
    @Sreynolds ill look into it. Thanks