Dipping health and safety basics

wittness87wittness87 Posts: 2Member
Sorry in advance if these questions have been asked previously.

I am just starting out with hydro dipping as a hobby (currently) and was wondering how important a protective suit (tyvek) and goggles are when spraying activator and/or basic clear coat (not 2k but the standard Rustoleum type)?

I presume a respirator is absolutely essential but am not sure about the suit? 

Also, I am currently dipping in my kitchen sink with the windows open, is this safe enough or am I asking for trouble!? 

Apologies for the amateurish questions. 

Comments

• DeviousDipsDeviousDips Posts: 1,619Member ✭✭✭✭
    Dipping inside a house is asking for trouble in my eyes. Their are alot of toxins in everything being sprayed from paints, clears, and activator. I personally don't wear a suit but respirator when spraying any of those I would do. Also an open window may be doing nothing without a fan pulling it out  just an open window could be blowing everything back inside depending on the wind. Another thing is spraying activator in a kitchen when foods and such is located is not very smart. U would be better off in a plastic tote out on the porch. 
    Lots of issues in my eyes and I would rethink your process. Kitchen where u eat would be the last place I would be spraying activator. 
    Just my 2 cents
  • loochlooch Posts: 1,709Member ✭✭✭✭✭
    Your spraying chemicals that can cause cancer.  Do you want that in your kitchen 
  • WileECoyoteWileECoyote Posts: 6,311Member, Moderator, Business Ninja El Moderator
    Sounds like he is probably using aerosol activator. Don't do it man... It's not worth it.
  • smedlinsmedlin Posts: 1,844Member, Business Ninja ✭✭✭✭✭
    From a strictly health stand point...

If your doing this from your kitchen sink.. i'm going to assume your just doing a few pieces here and there.

small little things.. your not running a production site, and your not doing a motorcycle fender.