Garnet or aluminum oxide — K2Forums.com

Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Garnet or aluminum oxide

Been using aluminum oxide for sandblasting stocks barrels and parts buddy told me garnet is much better just wondering any thoughts 

Comments

• DeviousDipsDeviousDips Posts: 1,516Member ✭✭✭✭
    @Tron78 ; Garnet is basically a cheap version of AO. They work very similar except AO has a much longer life than Garnet. AO is definitely the better of the 2
  • MidOhioHydrographicsMidOhioHydrographics Posts: 9,089Member, Moderator, Business Ninja El Moderator
    Either will work. Both are great. As stated above, the life of AO is said to be better but I have no first hand experience.
  • DarkHollowDarkHollow Posts: 75Member ✭✭
    I use AO, really is the best if your doing guns.
  • norcalfranknorcalfrank Posts: 973Member ✭✭✭
    I have used both and have stuck with garnet. I find AO to be dirtier and much more expensive. Both will work.
  • MidOhioHydrographicsMidOhioHydrographics Posts: 9,089Member, Moderator, Business Ninja El Moderator

I have used both and have stuck with garnet. I find AO to be dirtier and much more expensive. Both will work.

@norcalfrank Where were you getting your AO? We had the same issue until we got the AO from a better source. The Harbor Freight stuff is very nasty. And there was another supplier we tried as well. Now it's not bad at all. But I have never used Garnet to compare to. Last order of AO was $0.63 per pound. Skid shipping is $75 flat rate, so I order 500+ lbs at a time to keep price down. How much us garnet usually? I'm always willing to try new things.
    I use Garnet mostly also but I found the opposite. I thought AO was cleaner. It probably does determine from the store
  • Tron78Tron78 Posts: 19Member
    So if I decide to go with garnet on guns and stocks what grit he said 80 but everyone else is saying 100
    I shoot 80 on all my prodjects