Help!!! Film washing off and fading during rinse

mackeledmackeled Posts: 4Member
edited December 2017 in Tips and Techniques
I am new to the site. I have been dipping for a few years. I have never had a problem until this year. I have a bunch of guys waiting on European skull mounts and I am at my wits end. I typically use blue mist activator and ran out so I was using something I had laying around and thought maybe that was the issue. Got blue mist delivered yesterday and I am still having the same problem. The film lays nice on the skull until I rinse and then it washes off and fades . I use automotive grade primer and paint . Any help is grately appreciated , I don’t know what to do at this point. Today was my fourth try with this and it happens every time . 
Ring 

Comments

• MidOhioHydrographicsMidOhioHydrographics Posts: 9,404Member, Moderator, Business Ninja El Moderator
    edited December 2017
    Welcome, Ed! Thanks for joining. I responded to your email but will respond here as well. It looks like you are just under activated. Grab some practice parts like light switch cover plates or speed shapes And to try a little more activator. What paint are you using? How long did it cure before you dipped? What is your water temperature, soak time, and how is your activator being applied? If using a spraygun, what pressure are you running and what size tip does it have?
  • IceMasterIceMaster Posts: 1,333Member ✭✭✭✭
    I'm going to assume that you use these same paints etc for everything else? Usually, if the film is washing off, I right away lean towards over activated. Are you waiting any length of time between dipping and rinsing and if so, how long? Maybe try just a bit less activator and rinse it almost immediately
  • MidOhioHydrographicsMidOhioHydrographics Posts: 9,404Member, Moderator, Business Ninja El Moderator
    Jagged holes = under activated
    Smooth holes opening up like oil separating from water = over activated.