Spray gun setup recommendations for painting square steel tubing — K2Forums.com

Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Spray gun setup recommendations for painting square steel tubing

urb33urb33 Posts: 4Member
I'm new to metalworking and painting, but I've been welding furniture for my home out of square steel tubing. At this point, I've a number of pieces that I'd like to finish, so I'd like to purchase a spray gun in order to add color and protect the metal. I found myself here because I found some useful information posted about the ANI R150, which may or not be the appropriate spray gun for the job. To that end, I'd a couple of questions and I'm also looking for any unsolicited advice.

1. Is the ANI R150 or another detailing gun appropriate for spraying 1" steel tubing? I've been looking at detailing guns because tubing doesn't really have a big broad area for spraying.

2. Do I need to purchase multiple needles sizes for my gun? I spoke with a paint store and they seem to think I can get away with a product that combines a bare metal primer with a high-build primer for the first coat. Then, they can mix a single stage for the color. Certainly, I could also go the bare metal primer, high build primer, base coat, clear coat route, but I'm not sure if that means I need multiple needles or even guns to make this work.

3. Is there any other equipment that could be recommended?