Bad Wrap On TWN Film (film and activator) — K2Forums.com

Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Bad Wrap On TWN Film (film and activator)

Mark78PMark78P Posts: 4Member
I'm a hydrographics manager of 20 years, recently we had a different kind of film, its thicker that the usual stuff we use, which makes it(the film) incompatible with the current production activator, and when i go to Dip these parts i have lots of entry pinholes and horrible bad wrap because the film is so thick and not activated. I'm dipping later, slow down all my transfer methods, etc. and the end result is still the same. Is their anyway i can add something to my current activator to help with the wrap?

Comments

• MidOhioHydrographicsMidOhioHydrographics Posts: 8,703Member, Moderator, Business Ninja El Moderator
    Welcome! How about some other info. What is your production activator? Are you applying with an HVLP gun or automated? What is the water temperature and soak time? Which TWN film is it? Photos would help a great deal also.

Thicker PVA often just means it needs a longer soak time or bump your water temp up a few degrees. Some dwell time after activator application could help as well.

Since this is a production environment and this may be sensitive information to post out on the open forum, feel free to email me (joe@midohiohydro.com) and we can try and work through it that way if you prefer.
  • studebakerstudebaker Posts: 2,717Member, Business Ninja ✭✭✭✭✭
    40 Micron production film REQUIRES much more hydration time. Usually 180 - 240 seconds. Also, use a cool activator (Superbrew, Ink Drink, Mossy Sauce) and apply at the 180-second mark as opposed to the usual 60 second mark for 30 micron film.

Adding something to the activator is NOT the way to fix your dilemma.
  • Mark78PMark78P Posts: 4Member