Wondering what everyone uses, and thinks are the best, for clear coats / top coats? — K2Forums.com

Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Wondering what everyone uses, and thinks are the best, for clear coats / top coats?

mcguiremcguire Posts: 8Member
I am very new to the industry. Just attended a very informative training class given by fantastic people, and there was a clear coat recommended and used during training. It works fantastically, but I do find that it is quite pricey. I was wondering if there are other recommendations out there? Equally, if there is any advice of particular ones I should stay away from.

Comments

• versuspaintversuspaint Posts: 189Member ✭✭✭
    Depends on what you consider pricey.
    Transtar 7211/7226 works well, is resonable and is super easy to spray. This is what I have the newer painters start out with.
    I also just tried Metalux clear, 9701, and it sprayed really good, had awesome flow and gloss retention. For the bigger and better jobs we spray RM 5300 or 5335 both are amazing clears but a little pricey.
  • WileECoyoteWileECoyote Posts: 5,857Member, Moderator, Business Ninja El Moderator
    You can make just about any "Automotive" 2K clear work. Pick one and learn it. Care to let us know who you took training from? This sounds like a common misconception.
  • mcguiremcguire Posts: 8Member
    The company I trained with was great; I don't want this to sound like they led me in the wrong direction. They were amazing. I guess what I should have said was that right now I am still in "practice" mode until my confidence is ready for customers, and I think the clear coat we used in class was a little pricey for what I am using it for right now.

Thank you both so much for your input. I really do appreciate it. This forum has been a wonderful source of knowledge and advice, and I hope to contribute to some great discussions in the near future.