Powder coated valve covers

bigjaybigjay Posts: 60Member ✭✭
I've been dipping for 6 years now and have been the main powder coater for a business in Vernon BC. I started to experiment with cook times and temperature for Hydrographics over Powder coating and this is what I came out with. I sandblasted the covers and outgassed them at 400F for 25 min. Then coated with superchrome and half baked them at 400F for 10 min. Did not sand at all for a bond. Dipped the film on, washed and dried for 24hrs. Then put on a candy blue clear and baked at 300F for 20 min. 

Comments

• WileECoyoteWileECoyote Posts: 6,400Member, Moderator, Business Ninja El Moderator
    Did you do any sort of adhesion testing? I assume these were aluminum covers? Have any pics of the results?
  • bigjaybigjay Posts: 60Member ✭✭
  • WileECoyoteWileECoyote Posts: 6,400Member, Moderator, Business Ninja El Moderator
    Those look great.
    I didn't do any adhesion testing. Usually with the washing process if the film doesn't come off the item then you have good adhesion. That's also why I only half cured the superchrome basecoat. Because the activator from the dip will actually make a bit of a chemical bond with the powder coating
  • K2ConceptsK2Concepts Posts: 13,340Administrator El Jefe
    Yepp...that's pretty much how we did it...
  • DeviousDipsDeviousDips Posts: 1,648Member ✭✭✭✭
    Those look great
  • smedlinsmedlin Posts: 1,880Member, Business Ninja ✭✭✭✭✭
    Out of curiosity, why powder coat it instead of simply painting it?
  • 3monkeyshydrodip3monkeyshydrodip Posts: 839Member, Business Ninja ✭✭✭✭
    Look great but a little lost on the super chrome step as to why it was even done. Silver paint or powder coat would have given same result and saved money.
  • K2ConceptsK2Concepts Posts: 13,340Administrator El Jefe

Look great but a little lost on the super chrome step as to why it was even done. Silver paint or powder coat would have given same result and saved money.

This...